Summertime Post-Yoga Smoothies!

When I remember my yoga teacher training at the Pavones Yoga Center, of course I remember all the yoga and surfing, but honestly, coming in at a close third for best memory is master chef JP’s amazing cooking! We would return from our morning and evening sahdna practice to a bounty of fresh fruit, coconut raw oats, raw beet patties (which if I had made on my own, would be totally inedible, but somehow JP transformed them into magic!)

Image

Training at such a tropical, remote location allowed us munch on a bounty of fresh fruit and veggies—some of the best papaya I’ve had in my life! In honor of the PYC kitchen, I wanted to share a few smoothie recipes with you guys—some that JP made for us, and other’s that I enjoy after a good yoga or surf sesh. I do realize we aren’t all lucky enough to live in Costa Rica with fresh mango and papaya at our finger tips, so feel free to substitute what is fresh and local to you in any of the recipes!

Piña-Vocado
vegan, serves two

1 1/3 cups orange juice
1 1/4 cups frozen pineapple
1/2 avocado
1 small frozen banana (or fresh)
1/2 cup ice (I like coconut water ice cubes for this recipe)

Optional Add-in’s..
1/2 lime, squeezed over top smoothie, or blended right into it
1 Tbsp coconut milk or 2 tsp unsweetened coconut flakes
dash of cayenne

Basil or Mint Surfrider (my favorite!)

1 cup Limeade (can use concentrate and water too!)

2 cups Pineapple, cut into 1-inch chunks

¼ cup Mango and/or peaches or strawberries.

2 sprigs of Mint

Optional: ½ inch piece of ginger, peeled

(Also a good one if your belly is feeling sore!)

Green Chunky Monkey Protein Smoothie

1 Banana, fresh or frozen
1.5-2 cups Spinach or Kale fresh
1 cup Chocolate Soy/Almond/Cow’s Milk, lowfat
¾ cup Blueberries, frozen (unsweetened) unthawed
2 tbs Peanut Butter (or, try almond butter!)

Image

Leave a Reply

