Big Love ?

costa rica yoga alliance certification yoga teacher training 200-hour yoga program

For months I’ve been signing out with “big love” at the end of emails. Sometimes even in response to emails from people I’ve never met, I pause, breathe and open my heart while typing out this “big love” at the end. I don’t know what got me started with it, and I remember a sense of shyness at first… like really? you’re just gonna throw the L-word out there? To a stranger? But then I imagine someone really lonely on the other end, someone who maybe really needs to hear it. So yeah, Big LOVE.

Then the other day my sweet and culturally-savvy friend pointed out the polygamous implications of BIG LOVE with the suggestion I type that phrase into Netflix. Now that she mentions it, I vaguely remember hearing about this show, but I can’t decide whether to change my signature just in case someone on the other end mistakes my ‘big love’ for an open invitation. Is ‘big love’ too spooky for the mostly American public with whom I interact? Are we so socially programmed for non-contact that we cringe when someone extends a gesture, even a digital one, of heart-felt caring?

I don’t know.

For now I’m still practicing.

A non-polygamous BIG LOVE to you,

Indira

 

4 thoughts on “Big Love ?

  1. Richard Sho Albert says:

    Hola, very dear Big Love Indira!

    I once saw a letter written by Swami Shivananda to a company. It was a business kind of letter. At the end, he signed ‘Love”.

    GULP. Wow. I have tried this out on a smaller scale. The magic of the world love is that it is a gift. If someone doesn’t want to accept it because of THEIR interpretation of when, how, and for whom “love” is to be used, this is not my business.

    Sign me, steadfastly continuing to put it out there…cultural norms or not. LOVE, ===Sho===

    On Fri, Oct 18, 2013 at 6:23 PM, The Pavones Yoga Center’s Salty Dog wrote:

    > ** > Pavones Yoga Center posted: “For months I’ve been signing out with “big > love” at the end of emails. Sometimes even in response to emails from > people I’ve never met, I pause, breathe and open my heart while typing out > this “big love” at the end. I don’t know what got me started with i” >

    1. Pavones Yoga Center says:

      BIG LOVE SHO, you are I have had some funny/silly conversations about the magic of typos. In that vein, I love this: “…the magic of the WORLD love…” (where perhaps word love was meant). But WORLD LOVE is actuallyso much better. I like living in this WORLD LOVE. Thank you BIG gratitude, for breaking cultural norms that try to keep us closed in our hearts. Let’s keep it up, you and me. BIG LOVE, Indira

  2. Amanda says:

    I think it is great. I recently starting doing something similar in my emails to those I am working with at the studio. One of them showed this to her children, and her kids were super inspired. They said something to the effect of “what if everyone in the world loved each other more, like strangers even? She doesn’t even know you, but wants to offer love and support?” She was really touched by her kids reaction. If a negative reaction occurs, maybe they are just not ready to receive it yet. Send love to all and always!

Leave a Reply

