No Fuss Olive Oil Scented Natural Candle Recipe

ganesha olive oil candle costa rica yoga teacher training pavones yoga center indira kate kalmbach Hanuman108
Love the soft light the olive oil candle provides
Love the soft light the olive oil candle provides next to the bathtub.

We go through about 150 tea lights during each month-long yoga teacher training. We’re always looking for ways to minimize waste in landfills, and those little metal tea light cartridges were bumming me out. So I was stoked to find this recipe for homemade candles. But then you never know whether something you read about on the internet is actually going to work; I was happily surprised when this one did.

You won’t believe how easy this is.

Olive Oil Candles Recipe

  • light olive oil, about one ounce per candle. It doesn’t have to be cold-pressed; I used light olive oil. The other day I tried a blend of olive oil and a cheaper vegetable oil but the wick wouldn’t stay lit.
  • Libbey 4-1/2-Ounce Spice Jar with Lid, Set of 12 though I think you could use shot glasses, which is what we use during yoga programs in the yoga studio, but I thought these mind prove hardier on windy evenings because of the smaller mouth.
  • wicks I bought with 2.5 inch wicks but if I did it again I’ll buy 1.5 inch ones (at least for the Libbey jars. I have heard that you can use twine or cotton string, but then you have to rig a system with paperclips around the mouth of the jar and hooked into the twine to get it to stay above the oil. The wicks have a little metal base and are waxed so they stay upright on their own.
  • essential oils update I added citronella and eucalyptus oils (4 drops each) to one of the candles, to no effect. It didn’t turn into a scented candle, so I’ll try more tonight. If I  If you try this at home, I would love to hear what works.

We burned 2 candles for about three hours and couldn’t see any measurable difference in the olive oil levels so I would guess that one ounce could last for a week to ten days. The links below are for the spice jars and wicks that I used (if you aren’t boycotting Amazon).

1.5 inch wicks: http://www.amazon.com/Super-Wick-Small-Tab-Light/dp/B001QS2CPQ/ref=sr_1_4?ie=UTF8&qid=1416760675&sr=8-4&keywords=candle+wick+super+wick

Libbery 4 1/2 Ounce Spice Jar http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000HDMKJY/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o08_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

ganesha olive oil candle costa rica yoga teacher training pavones yoga center indira kate kalmbach Hanuman108

Leave a Reply

