Self Portrait by David Whyte

Although I came across “The Invitation” prior to discovering this gem by David Whyte, I believe David Whyte’s precedes Oriah Mountain Dreamer’s. Jane and I have had long and delicious conversations about the way authors and poets draw inspiration from peers, and I can’t help but see striking similarities between “Self Portrait” and “The Invitation.” And also, for that matter (another pair of books Jane and I love to talk about) between David Whyte’s The Three Marriages and Stephen Cope’s later The Great Work of Your Life. So grateful to Jane for digging up the beautiful jpeg images for us to print out and paste on refrigerators.

Who are your favorite authors and where do they turn for inspiration?

David Whyte Self Portrait poetry recited at Pavones Yoga Center poetry yoga teacher training Costa Rica ecopsychology earth based teachings

Leave a comment