The Tao Of Food: The Middle Way

alex lanau cooking vegan chef pavones yoga center Costa Rica

by Alex Lanau

alex lanau cooking vegan chef pavones yoga center Costa RicaEver wonder how to be healthy in a never ending sea of information? Me too.

My intention is to find the Tao of Food, the so-called Middle Way between starting every day swirling coconut oil and a colon cleanse or scarfing bacon, hashbrowns, and a chug mug of cola. I want to shine a light on the absurdity of some of the health claims that are bouncing around the empty halls of the school of internet health. 

If you fall for every health trend that continues to flood your social media feed then welcome to my world.

As I type this I happen to be swirling coconut oil in my mouth for 15 minutes because a wise (?) man once said that it’s great for your health. Little scientific data backs the claim, yet I continue. After I’m done oil pulling I will drink a glass of cold pressed green juice, today’s answer to yesteryears gatorade, but at least it’s cultivated from an organic garden. 

Where is the middle ground you ask? I don’t want to live forever, I just want to be able to enjoy my health as long as possible. Eternal youth, after-all, would necessarily include living to experience every Apple product launch for ever and ever. In which case I rather gorge on the all-you-can-eat-bacon buffett and enjoy a brief life on my own terms. This is what I have found to be most important: To find the balance between healthy and indulgent eating without feeling guilty about it. I’ve done that by playing around with some of the more extreme health fads out there.

Come back next time to hear how I survived a month without sugar. And check out the upcoming Pavones Yoga Center Costa Rica yoga teacher trainings where I’ll be cooking all month!

yoga teacher training costa rica

 

Leave a Reply

